Jackey Bank, 8 April 2023

The stretch of woods that this primitive fire enclosure was found in is wild, unmanaged, and not designed to encourage visitors. It’s not a particularly attractive environment, it’s situated on a steep hill, the paths are covered with briers and other obstacles, all of which makes it difficult to navigate. I think its primary purpose is to act as a haven for wildlife, and I believe the extent to which it successfully fulfils this function is the subject of university sponsored scientific study. I haven’t seen much in the way of wild mammals in the area, although I presume that badgers and foxes probably hang out in the location. I’ve noticed plenty of butterflies and varieties of unfamiliar wildflowers in due season. I know that the woods border a field belonging to the nearby stables, which used to house what appeared to be a major warren, although I haven’t seen any rabbits knocking about in recent years, an absence that I attribute to the unknown nefarious purposes of the stable owners, who are pariahs in the local community, and whose actions are motivated by the sole purpose of extending their domain with the aim of maximising income. You encounter the occasional dog walker now and then, which necessitates a particular form of intuitive etiquette to ensure that these chance encounters are navigated without anyone coming a cropper. All of which makes the presence of a recently used fire pit somewhat unnerving.

Leave a comment